Top Ten Books I Recommend for People Who Don't Normally Read MG

Hey y'all! Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week's topic is Top Ten Books I Recommend for People Who Don't Normally Read X and since I'm a YA blogger, I thought about doing mine on YA. I've just been in a huge MG mood lately and so I'm doing it on that. MG means middle grade, for those of you who don't know, and are children's books, usually intended for ages about 8-12. I'm a huge fan of YA, but I love MG and many of these books count among my favorites. These are all books that I feel like people would just LOVE trying to get into the genre. Here goes! 1. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee StewartI actually reread this today. I finally got a new paperback copy at my indie yesterday and remembered how much I love it every time that I read it. I love this book and will always. This entire series is clever, highly enjoyable, and wholeheartedly warm. I adore this book so much. The writing is impeccable and the narration feels so personal, it's like you're being told a story by somebody you love.2. The 13th Reality: The Journal of Curious Letters by James DashnerThis is one of my favorite books. I love the clever riddles. Those of you who have read The Maze Runner, his YA dystopian, would be surprised by this different style but pleased with his trademark action and sharp thinking. The characters are engaging, the plot absorbing, and the entire book is just incredible. If this book were a boy, I'd marry it (okay, I know that analogy is overused but I don't know any other way to describe my love for this series).3. Fablehaven by Brandon MullI remember my first time reading this book and being stunned by the rich description in the first chapter alone. His writing is so evocative and entertaining. His talent for sensory detail and entertaining storyline make a fantastical treat. I read this entire series as it came out and still have them lined up on my shelf to enjoy whenever it calls me.4. The Secret of the Sirens by Julia GoldingThis book is actually one that not many people know about and that is a shame. Mythology is brought to life in this book. I'd say it's a great book for fans of Percy Jackson and Fablehaven. Connie is a sweetheart and the story is great. I devoured this series in a few weeks and grabbed the next book (of which there are four) every time I went to the bookstore. I love all of the books in this series.5. The Candy Shop War by Brandon MullThis book makes me hungry, ha. The deceit and wonderfully spun plot is as delectable as the candy itself. The group of friends is a fun cast and the creative story makes it a great read for anytime you want to unwind and relax. I just think it's adorable and clever. Brandon Mull is one of my favorite MG authors because he knows how to reach the targeted age group and capture their attention, but creates fun stories for all ages.6.  Jack Blank and the Secret War by Matt MykluschThis book was one that I won in a giveaway that I had forgotten I entered. I'm so happy that I ended up reading it because I absolutely loved it. The world-building is great, the characters are captivating, and the twist behind everything is huge. I couldn't put it down. I read this before I read the first book and was able to pick it completely up. It's very clear. I did buy the first book at the bookstore yesterday, and can't wait to dig in!7. Born to Rule by Kathryn LaskyI love how delicious this story is! Princesses is one thing (I love myself a princess story) but the camp part of it was intoxicating. The story was simple, but well-written and indulgent. I love to read about princesses and the adventures that they go through and this is a feel good friendship story.8. Daughters of the Sea series by Kathryn LaskyThis is more of a crossover book from MG/YA but I loved stumbling across a great MG mermaid tale. This and Emily Windsnap are considered my favorites. This is a sweet story with ominous undertones that speak of later dangers in the later books in the series. It's addictive to read and the historical vibe makes it rich.9. Icefall by Matthew McKirbyWow. Blew me away (pun not intended). Leslie at Inkwood told me to pick this one up and I am so glad I did because Matthew is TALENTED. He is one to watch. I definitely need more from him and I need it now. I don't even know how to describe it. There's also his other book, The Clockwork Three, which is just as fantastic.10. Liesl and Po by Lauren OliverI'm reading this now and I love it! Read my review in a week or so and I promise it will be very gushy. As of how much I've read, it deserves to be gushed about. Lauren Oliver is talented not only at YA, but her MG debut proves to be just as good. I love Liesl and Po so far and I'm eating it up. I can't wait until I can pick it up again (I'm in the middle of a review book).I hope y'all enjoyed this post! I'm sorry I'm still getting back up on my feet after exams and such. I promise I'll try to be better about posting more content and reviews! I've been reading a lot of great books recently, so I'm hoping y'all enjoy all the positive reviews coming your way!

uncategorizedGraceComment