Waiting on Wednesday (3)

Hey y’all!It’s Grace here to do Waiting on Wednesday. Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine where bloggers and readers showcase upcoming books that they’re looking forward to reading! I’ve just recently decided to partake in it (partly due to the girls over at Lit Up Review, where I also blog) and I’ve discovered so many reads that I’m putting on my to-read list. Without further ado, here’s this week’s pick!falling into place2 Novel: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang | Goodreads Release Date: September 9, 2014 Publisher: Greenwillow Books

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

At first I heard about this book and was interested, but not overtly so. After hearing that it's one of Jamie's (The Perpetual Page Turner) favorite reads of the year, I knew I had to read it! I looked into it a little more, and now I'm obsessed. While I was expecting it to be more like Love and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan (which I enjoyed - review coming soon!), I've heard it's actually more like If I Stay or This Song Will Save Your Life.I have a weakness for poignant books. Sometimes, I just need a tearjerker, or one that's beautiful or sad or lovely in a strange way. I've heard it has a mixture of different aspects in each chapter, with snapshots and moments interspersed in a nonlinear fashion. I'm interested to see how Zhang would pull that off and still keep the story clear.It sounds like one of those books that will softly impact you, the type that is distinctly sad and deals with some issues without being overtly heavy. Those are books that I tend to genuinely love, so I'm looking forward to it. In addition, I love intelligent main characters and coming up with science behind emotions like love or grief. I find it fascinating. The vivid look of it is appealing.