Waiting on Wednesday (4)

Hey y’all!

It’s Grace here to do Waiting on Wednesday. Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine where bloggers and readers showcase upcoming books that they’re looking forward to reading! I’ve just recently decided to partake in it (partly due to the girls over at Lit Up Review, where I also blog) and I’ve discovered so many reads that I’m putting on my to-read list. Without further ado, here’s this week’s pick!

9780062135896_7a6eeNovel: Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White | GoodreadsRelease Date: September 9, 2014Publisher: HarperTeen

Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.

Kiersten White did so well with Paranormalcy. I devoured that series and cried when it ended. It was straight-up paranormal which I love even now. To see her tackle high-fantasy? I can't wait.

Her sparkling humor, stunning plot twists, and lovable characters win my heart. If she can manage to do that complete with the lush romanticism that the synopsis promises, I will be a very happy girl. I appreciate when authors strike out of their preferred genre or sub-genre. I will never stop commending their bravery for trying something new with their writing, and White does such a glorious job with everything she does. This is a book that calls for mood, and I very much want Kiersten White to be able to pull off an encompassing mood.

Plot-wise, it sounds intense. The dark twists of the nobility are enthralling, with this majesty reminiscent of Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. The romance sounds like something from The Selectionwhich I would absolutely SWOON over.

I'm excited for this one, I really am.

What books are y'all excited for?