Waiting on Wednesday (17)

timekeeperNovel: Timekeeper by Tara Sim | GoodreadsRelease Date: November 1, 2016Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Two o’clock was missing. In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

I looked for this one at ALA but had just barely missed the signing. I'm not the biggest steampunk fan out there, but I am intrigued by the genre. I've read books that have done it well, and ones that have done it poorly, so it could go either way for me.I've heard Timekeeper has some great world building, and it looks like a fresh story - which is quite the novelty, actually! I love that time is a malleable force in this one, since it's such an integral part of so many plots. I want to know how much clarity the story will have - that's normally the deal-breaker for me in dealing with similar concepts. In addition, I've heard the diverse romance is sweet, the villain's interesting...There's not much more I need from this one. I'm hoping it lives up to my expectations. Maybe it'll fill my Ruby Red void?

What do y'all think?